Migrating from iOS Notes to Evernote

I tend to take a lot of notes and have used the iOS Notes for quickly jotting down anything that comes to mind. But for synchronization and editing from multiple platforms, the iOS Notes does not work for me. I’ve been using Evernote for a while, but not as my main Notes application.  I’d mostly used Evernote for holding PDFs I received in email or notes with photos attached. As I continued to use iOS Notes, the problem grew – I accumulated more notes that would have to one day be transferred. The iOS Notes tool was quicker to start up, but it was like a bad habit I kept on committing.  The Notes tool in iOS5 has no improvement to it, so the time came to finally make the change.  So with a little automation, I’ve quickly made the transition.

First, since I have a Yahoo account, my iOS Notes are stored in a Notes folder of my email account structure. I used Thunderbird to connect to Yahoo IMAP and saved all 230+ notes as .eml files in a folder called YahooNotes. Then I opened the Evernote application on my Mac, as required by the last Applescript. You should have the app installed anyway if you plan on using Evernote. Next I used this little piece of Applescript to change all the extensions to .txt

set thePath to choose folder with prompt "Select folder to rename files in:"
set ext to text returned of (display dialog "Extension to Replace:" default answer "")
set extNew to text returned of (display dialog "Replace With:" default answer "")
tell application "Finder" to set name extension of (files of thePath whose name extension is ext) to extNew

so that this Applescript could then send each into the Evernote application. I will caution you that this took a while and bogged my system down at one point.


set listOfNames to {}
set theFolder to choose folder "Select the source folder"
tell application "Finder"
set filelist to every file of the folder theFolder
repeat with currentFile in filelist
set currentFileName to (the name of currentFile)
set nom to currentFileName
if text -4 of nom is "." then
set currentFileName to (text 1 thru -5 of nom)
end if
set currentFileDate to (the creation date of currentFile)
set modFileDate to (the modification date of currentFile)
set currentFileLocation to currentFile as alias
set currentFileFolder to (the name of theFolder)
tell application "Evernote"
set theItem to create note title currentFileName created currentFileDate notebook currentFileFolder from file currentFileLocation
set (modification date of theItem) to modFileDate
end tell
end repeat
end tell

Voila! All my notes are now in Evernote.

 

One thought on “Migrating from iOS Notes to Evernote

Comments are closed.