Favorite iPhone apps revisited

Back in August 2008, a mere month after the iPhone was released, I published my list of apps that I used.  I had quite a list back then and still have the personal rule that I won’t have more than 4 pages of apps since it’s too hard to find them.  I try to organize them by most used kept on the front page, especially now that the iphone allows you to use the home button to flip to that first page.  Here is what I currently have on the iPhone, other than the included apps.  You’ll find that there really aren’t any games on here.  I prefer my games full screen on my PC or plasma TV rather than shrunk down, but to each his own.

iphonemar2009

  1. Todo – list and project tracking (paid app) that links with Toodledo, or optionally with Remember the Milk.  
  2. Evernote – Note taking app that includes photos and allows searching photos and PDFs.  The best part is that it syncs with the Evernote web site so that your notes are safe.  Unlike the built-in iPhone Notes app that syncs with nothing and risks the loss of all your notes.  Here is just one of the many uses.
  3. Nambu – Twitter and FriendFeed application that I replaced Twinkle with.  It includes posting photos via pic.im, tr.im as well as Identi.ca, Laconi.ca based streams and Ping.fm.  It’s being very actively developed along with a desktop version.  This seriously works a lot like TweetDeck, so it’s really useful.
  4. Livestrong – Weight and diet tracking application.  This is part of my new year’s resolution.  My exercising is still very irregular, but adjusting my diet helped me lose almost 20lbs now.
  5. Characters – World of Warcraft character tracking app.  I play it a lot, but this probably doesn’t belong on the front page anymore.
  6. Facebook – Great app that complements the Facebook site for interacting with friends from high school.
  7. LinkedIn – Great app that complements the LinkedIn site for interacting with professionals.  Not as shiny as the Facebook app and a fair bit buggier.
  8. Mint.com – This is THE application for tracking personal finances.  I can’t rave enough about this. Put all your credit cards, loans, bank accounts, 401Ks into their secure system and get the depressing outlook all in one screen.  The web site has great graphs and stats on your usage and can really help remix your finances and identify spending habits that can be trimmed.
  9. Brightkite – This is part of my flow for posting to my social networking sites.  Brightkite posts to Flickr, which is monitored by FriendFeed which posts a list to it into Twitter.
  10. Phoneflix – tracks my Netflix queue for whenever someone recommends a movie.  It could use some interaction with imdb.com.
  11. Amazon.com – Lets me check prices instantly while in stores.  Why pay more than I have to?  The interface is just right for quick browsing.
  12. Wikipanion – This is a better interface for looking up facts than directly hitting the Wikipedia site, which is frankly half of what you are looking for when searching through Google.  Wikipedia needs to work on their mobie device interface, but this makes up for that.
  13. iHaloStats (web link) – This tracks my Halo acheivements.  For linking to my Twitter account, I use http://twee60.com/.
  14. DISQUS (web link) – This lets me moderate comments on my WordPress web sites which use Disqus for comment management, as well as post replies to those comments. FriendFeed monitors Disqus as well, so these make it into my Twitter stream as well.
  15. Ebay – I can do auction searches and keep tabs on my sales and account status.  You know… for when you get that mail that tells you “Your accesses has been limited.  Pleasing to click link below to updating your account.”
  16. MonkeyChow (web link) – This is a web link to my RSS reader’s iPhone interface.  Very useful for catching up on the latest news when on the go.
  17. WordPress – I really only use this for composing draft posts to my various web sites.  I find that WordPress’ real web interface is much handier for finalizing posts.  It works well for jotting down blog ideas before they escape my brain.
  18. Now Playing – App for looking up reviews and movie times.  Very handy.
  19. Last.fm - I don’t use this as much as I’d like, but now that WXRK has switched to pop and hiphop, I’ll be using it much more.
  20. 1337pwn – Great for checking up on XBox live friends and gamer scores.
  21. FriendFeed (web link) – This is just for those occassions that Nambu doesn’t render something right for FriendFeed.
  22. Twitter (web link) – This is just for those occassions that Nambu doesn’t render something right for Twitter.
  23. Simplify – Wonderful app that taps into my music collection at home to extend what I physically have on my iPhone.  It requires the SimplifyMedia app running on a system at home, which I have running on a Windows XP VM.
  24. BofA – not as useful now that I use Mint.com, but sometimes the actual Bank of America site posts charges quicker than Mint.com can catch it.
  25. Mint (web link) – (not the finance app) Web site analytics for http://www.shokk.com from haveamint.com
  26. Bookmarks – Del.icio.us bookmarks app, which works well with the built-in safari browser, and posts to Twitter.
  27. Remote – Very useful for controlling my iTunes playlist without going over to the computer.  I just wish it could access DAAp sources somehow, like the one streaming in my home from Firefly Media Server.
  28. NewAmBible – I like to catch up on my faith every now and then.
  29. Constitution – I like to catch up on the rules of the state every now and then.
  30. Palringo – IM app for iPhone.  Has been sitting there waiting for Background Notifications to make it useful.  For pete’s sake, my crappy Blackberry 8700 could do it for a number of chat services, why can’t this do it?  What is broken in the iPhone architecture?
  31. Easy WiFi – This came in use while traveling.  The airport had AT&T WiFi, which is free to iPhone users, but for some reason I had trouble logging in.  Luckily I had downloaded it while it was free.
  32. Drinks Free – Every once in a while I like to host a get-together for friends, mostly in the summers when I can use my deck and the nice deck bar.  This has soooooo many drink combinations.
  33. iTalk – Great for voice notes.  This functionality really should have been built into the phone frmo the start.  You can pull the voice notes off the iPhone with the Mac app.   Again, my Blackberry does this right out of the box.
  34. Dog Whistle – We got a dog last year and this seemed like a good idea for training the dog.  Now it just serves to annoy the kids since the dog just looks at me funny.  Luckily it was free at the time.
  35. Pandora – Same story as Last.fm, though I wish it linked into social networking apps more.  The service is a little too simple, but it often carries music that Last.fm might not have.
  36. iBreviary – Another faith based app.
  37. RK Free – I’m still looking for a replacement app for using when I run ever since I gave up my iPod nano that was used with Nike+.  I’m jealous that Apple put that functionality into the 2nd gen iPod Touch but did not make an accessory to do the same for the iPhone.  We’ll see soon how this performs.
  38. iThoughts – Mind mapping tool.  I haven’t made great use of it, but it has potential.
  39. ZumoDrive – this was a great alternative to all those apps that required you to share files while on a LAN.  Not only does this app mean you won’t have to store the files on the iPhone itself, but you can share between PC, Mac, and iPhone when no wireless is available.
  40. Watchmen – this probably won’t be on my phone much longer, but it’s a tie-in to one of the greatest superhero movies ever.
  41. Kindle – this is to keep me from buying a real Kindle.  No PDF support?
  42. FlightTrack Pro – Came in very handy while traveling this month.  Also posts to TripIt.com which is monitored by 
  43. TagReader – This is a curiosity that I found on the back of the Halo Wars box.  I haven’t really seen any other uses of these tags, but it looks interesting.

 

Recenty Apple announced that iPhone OS 3.0 would be detailed soon, probably for release in July with the new iPhone model.  I think everyone would agree that managing the apps is a giant pain in the ass.  There should be a list view in iTunes or on the iPhone itself where we can bulk delete these rather than letting them collect.  Managing the installed apps should not be this hard.

14 thoughts on “Favorite iPhone apps revisited

  1. What I can say is very nice and helpful as well as informative post…really help me very much more!! Thanks..

  2. Toner CartridgesApex Ink & Toner offers an extensive line of Compatible Laser Toner Cartridges. Whatever your brand, from A to Z, we offer high quality Compatible Laser Toner Cartridges that provide the highest quality and the absolute lowest prices!

  3. APC BatteryAPC UPS Batteries and RBC Cartridges for APC brands in stock for most every model, including APC PC, Back-UPS, Back-UPS Pro, Smart-UPS, Rack Mount, APC Office. We have most APC RBC Replacement Batteries and Replacement Battery Cartridges in stock for same day shipment.

  4. Toner CartridgesApex Ink & Toner offers an extensive line of Compatible Laser Toner Cartridges. Whatever your brand, from A to Z, we offer high quality Compatible Laser Toner Cartridges that provide the highest quality and the absolute lowest prices!

  5. APC BatteryAPC UPS Batteries and RBC Cartridges for APC brands in stock for most every model, including APC PC, Back-UPS, Back-UPS Pro, Smart-UPS, Rack Mount, APC Office. We have most APC RBC Replacement Batteries and Replacement Battery Cartridges in stock for same day shipment.

  6. Mint.com i think this will be very useful to me putting all your important files in with its secure system i had try once an online storage for important documents and it really work well hope this one works good too

  7. Simon, you hit the nail on the head. Whatever they can do to make more money is ultimately what will win out. They know they stole a lot of business from their competitors by rewarding http://www.chase.com quality. You better believe they are measuring this change to see if it brings more revenue. If it does they will continue. If not they will change their strategy in favor of what brings them a better ROI. I appreciate you article and look forward to more of the same.

  8. Knowing the nfcu answer to #1 would help us to answer this: Does planning for climate related instability look the same as planning for transnational threats and post-conflict stabilization? This strategy makes it look as if it does. Maybe it does. I have no idea. But again, knowing how much strategists actually thought about climate change while making this strategy would help us to know if they're actually planning for it, or just tacking it on the front.

Comments are closed.