Remembering the Victims of September 11

With less than a week until the 5th anniversary of 9/11 Michelle Malkin has reported on the 2,996 Project. I’m number 2527 with a profile of Captain Thomas Theodore Haskell. Stop by to remember some of the victims of this terrible attack, and think about what it will take to prevent any such attack from happening in our lifetime or that of our grandchildren. Rather than focusing on the politics of the War on Terror for now, however, lets celebrate Captain Haskell.

Captain Haskell was battalion chief for Ladder Company 132 of the New York Fire Department in Brooklyn. I’ve always thought that being a member of a fire department was crazy work, running into buildings while everyone else was running out. Someone in that line of work knows that when they run into the building there is a real chance that they may be putting themselves into a situation that may end with their horrific death. But they do it anyway for you and I, people they don’t even know. There are people all over the U.S. doing this on a daily basis. I pass our local fire department every day on my way to work, where they have a sign asking for volunteers. I look at that sign and know that I’m not brave enough to do that line of work, just like I’m not brave enough to sign up for any military line of work. So I have a deep respect for this man who died while performing an honorable job during an unthinkable event that would have sent most of us cowering into a corner. Compounding his tragedy is the fact that the attack also claimed the life of his brother Timothy Haskell.

Captain Thomas Theodore Haskell is survived by wife Barbara, three daughters Meaghan, Erin, and Tara, and his sister Dawn.

